HALAL - WHAT IS IT ALL ABOUT?
The word, ‘Halal’ in Arabic translates to ‘permissible’ in English. It refers to what is permissible or lawful in traditional Islamic law and is frequently used in reference to food and drinks. ‘Haram’, the opposite of Halal means ‘forbidden’ or ‘not permitted’. Individuals of Muslim faith consume only foods that are considered Halal while avoiding Haram foods. Preparation of Halal food is also important and must be done safely and not harmfully. Preparation and processing equipment must not be contaminated.
HALAL CHICKEN CERTIFICATION
All of our chicken is Halal certified. It is purchased from Reuven International and is certified by the Central Islamic Council of Thailand.
If you are a halal user, we want to make it easy for you to identify meals that align with your dietary preference. Any meal that excludes Haram ingredients is labelled Halal Friendly. Halal Friendly meals exclude the following Haram ingredients:
• Pork, pork products, and byproducts of pork (lipase, pepsin, gelatin)
• Meat and poultry not slaughtered according to Islamic dietary law including their byproducts (shortening, gelatin)
• Alcohol of any kind, including that found in mirin. Note, rice wine vinegar has virtually zero alcohol content, so it is not considered Haram
• Cheese made with non-halal animal rennet, whey, lipase, and other enzymes
Note that KitchenMate's Halal Friendly meals are not produced in a halal-certified facility and are therefore not prepared in accordance with Muslim dietary laws and customs. Additionally, while strict policies and procedures are in place to minimize the risk of cross-contamination between Halal and Haram ingredients in our production facility, we unfortunately cannot oversee the preparation and processing procedures of our ingredient manufacturers.
HOW DO I KNOW WHICH MEALS ARE HALAL FRIENDLY?
Look for this logo on:
- Physical Meal Pod
- Dish Details
We are fully committed to preparing food safely and thoughtfully. We try our best to minimize cross-contamination so that only the ingredients that are supposed to be in a meal make their way in. Read more about our Food Allergies and Intolerance Handling Procedures here.